# First Responder's Employer Certification of Injury

#### Section 196.102, Florida Statutes

File this form with the county property appraiser.

#### TO BE COMPLETED BY EMPLOYER OR VOLUNTEER'S SUPERVISOR

Employee Name	Job Title
Supervisor Name	
Employing Entity Address	
	yer certificate must be supplemented with extant documentation of the
incident or event that caused the injury, s	
Location of Incident	Date of Incident
Incident Details	

**NOTE:** A total and permanent disability that results from a cardiac event does not qualify for the exemption unless the cardiac event occurs no later than 24 hours after the first responder performed nonroutine stressful or strenuous physical activity in the line of duty and the first responder provides the employer with a certificate from the first responder's treating cardiologist for the cardiac event along with any pertinent supporting documentation, stating, within a reasonable degree of medical certainty, that:

- (a) The nonroutine stressful or strenuous activity directly and proximately caused the cardiac event that gave rise to the total and permanent disability; and
- (b) The cardiac event was not caused by a preexisting vascular disease.

I certify that the first responder's injury or injuries were directly and proximately caused by service in the line of duty, without willful negligence on the part of the first responder, and are the sole cause of the first responder's total and permanent disability. This statement is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

Signature (employer/designee)

Date

## FIRST RESPONDER'S PHYSICIAN CERTIFICATE OF TOTAL AND PERMANENT DISABILITY

Section 196.102, Florida Statutes

l,, ;	a physician licensed pursuan	it to chapter 458 d	r
Physician's name chapter 459, Florida Statutes, hereby certify that	Mr. 🗌 Mrs. 🗌 Miss 🗌 Ms.		
		Applicant name	
Social Security Number*, is totally a	and permanently disabled due	e to an impairmer	nt
of the mind or body, and such impairment renders hir	n or her unable to engage in	any substantial	
gainful occupation, which condition is reasonably cert	tain to continue throughout hi	is or her life.	
☐ Mr. ☐ Mrs. ☐ Miss ☐ Ms	has the following	mental or physica	d
condition(s):			
It is my professional belief that within a reasonable de condition(s) render	Name of totally and permanent	tly disabled person	_ to
the best of my knowledge and professional belief.			
Signature Address: (print)	Date	_	
Street	City S	tate Zip	
Florida Board of Medicine or Osteopathic Medicine lic	cense number		

Issued on \_\_\_\_\_.

NOTICE TO TAXPAYER: Each Florida resident applying for an exemption due to a total and permanent disability that occurred in the line of duty while serving as a first responder must present to the county property appraiser the required physician certificate(s), the required documentation from the Social Security Administration, and a certificate from the employer for whom the applicant worked as a first responder at the time of the injury or injuries, as required by section 196.102(5), Florida Statutes. This form is to be completed by a licensed Florida physician.

NOTICE TO TAXPAYER AND PHYSICIAN: Section 196.102(10), Florida Statutes, provides that any person who knowingly and willingly gives false information for the purpose of claiming the homestead exemption for totally and permanently disabled first responders commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable by a term of imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding \$5,000, or both.

\*Disclosure of your social security number is mandatory. It is required by section 196.011(1), Florida Statutes. The social security number will be used to verify taxpayer identity information and homestead exemption information submitted to property appraisers.

## FIRST RESPONDER'S PHYSICIAN CERTIFICATE OF TOTAL AND PERMANENT DISABILITY

Section 196.102, Florida Statutes

l,, ;	a physician licensed pursuan	it to chapter 458 d	r
Physician's name chapter 459, Florida Statutes, hereby certify that	Mr. 🗌 Mrs. 🗌 Miss 🗌 Ms.		
		Applicant name	
Social Security Number*, is totally a	and permanently disabled due	e to an impairmer	nt
of the mind or body, and such impairment renders hir	n or her unable to engage in	any substantial	
gainful occupation, which condition is reasonably cert	tain to continue throughout hi	is or her life.	
☐ Mr. ☐ Mrs. ☐ Miss ☐ Ms	has the following	mental or physica	d
condition(s):			
It is my professional belief that within a reasonable de condition(s) render	Name of totally and permanent	tly disabled person	_ to
the best of my knowledge and professional belief.			
Signature Address: (print)	Date	_	
Street	City S	tate Zip	
Florida Board of Medicine or Osteopathic Medicine lic	cense number		

Issued on \_\_\_\_\_.

NOTICE TO TAXPAYER: Each Florida resident applying for an exemption due to a total and permanent disability that occurred in the line of duty while serving as a first responder must present to the county property appraiser the required physician certificate(s), the required documentation from the Social Security Administration, and a certificate from the employer for whom the applicant worked as a first responder at the time of the injury or injuries, as required by section 196.102(5), Florida Statutes. This form is to be completed by a licensed Florida physician.

NOTICE TO TAXPAYER AND PHYSICIAN: Section 196.102(10), Florida Statutes, provides that any person who knowingly and willingly gives false information for the purpose of claiming the homestead exemption for totally and permanently disabled first responders commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable by a term of imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding \$5,000, or both.

\*Disclosure of your social security number is mandatory. It is required by section 196.011(1), Florida Statutes. The social security number will be used to verify taxpayer identity information and homestead exemption information submitted to property appraisers.

### **EXEMPTION AND DISCOUNT REQUIREMENTS**

**Homestead** Every person who owns real property in Florida on January 1, makes the property his or her permanent residence or the permanent residence of a legal or natural dependent, and files an application may receive a property tax exemption up to \$50,000. The first \$25,000 applies to all property taxes. The added \$25,000 applies to assessed value over \$50,000 and only to non-school taxes.

Your local property appraiser will determine whether you are eligible. The appraiser may consider information such as the items requested on the bottom of page 1.

**Save our Homes (SOH)** Beginning the year after you receive homestead exemption, the assessment on your home cannot increase by more than the lesser of the change in the Consumer Price Index or 3 percent each year, no matter how much the just value increases. If you have moved from one Florida homestead to another within the last three years, you may be eligible to take some of your SOH savings with you. See your property appraiser for more information.

#### This page does not contain all the requirements that determine your eligibility for an exemption. Consult your local property appraiser and Chapter 196, Florida Statutes, for details.

	Added Bellello A	vailable for Qualified Homeste	-	
	Amount	Qualifications	Forms and Documents*	Statute
Exemptions		I		
	Determined by local ordinance	Local ordinance, limited income	Proof of age DR-501SC, household income	
Local option, age 65 and older	The amount of the assessed value	Local ordinance, just value under \$250,000, permanent residency for 25 years or more.	DR-501SC, household income	196.075
Widowed	\$5,000		Death certificate of spouse	196.202
Blind	\$5,000		Florida physician, DVA*, or SSA**	196.202
Totally and Permanently Disabled	\$5,000	Disabled	Florida physician, DVA*, or SSA**	196.202
	All taxes	Quadriplegic	2 Florida physicians or DVA*	196.101
	All taxes	Hemiplegic, paraplegic, wheelchair required for mobility, or legally blind Limited income	DR-416, DR-416B, or letters from 2 FL physicians (For the legally blind, one can be an optometrist.) Letter from DVA*, and DR-501A, household income	196.101
Veterans and First Responde	ers Exemptions ar	nd Discount		
Disabled veteran discount, age 65 and older which carries over to the surviving spouse	% of disability	Combat-related disability	Proof of age, DR-501DV Proof of disability, DVA*, or US government	196.082
Veteran, disabled 10% or more by misfortune or during wartime service	Up to \$5,000	Veteran or surviving spouse	Proof of disability, DVA*, or US government	196.24
Veteran confined to wheelchair, service-connected, totally disabled	All taxes	Veteran or surviving spouse	Proof of disability, DVA*, or US government	196.091
Service-connected, totally and permanently disabled veteran or surviving spouse	All taxes	Veteran or surviving spouse	Proof of disability, DVA*, or US government	196.081
Surviving spouse of veteran who died while on active duty	All taxes	Surviving spouse	Letter attesting to the veteran's death while on active duty	196.081
First responder totally and permanently disabled in the line of duty or surviving spouse	All Taxes	First responder or surviving spouse	Proof of Disability, employer certificate, physician's certificate and SSA** (or additional physician certificate)	196.102
Surviving spouse of first responder who died in the line of duty	All taxes	Surviving spouse	Letter attesting to the first responder's death in the line of duty	196.081